You are here
Home > Culture > Orange Poland announces supervisory board candidates

Orange Poland announces supervisory board candidates

Orange Poland

Six Orange Poland supervisory board members’ mandates are vacant at the Annual General Assembly of the company on 12 April. Five reach the end of their terms and one is vacant in connection with a resignation, so Orange has announced its proposals for their replacements. Independent candidate Professor Michal Kleiber is proposed as a new member. Current members proposed for new terms are Jean-Marie Culpin, Eric Debroeck, Gervais Pellissier, Marc Ricau and Maciej Witucki.

Kleiber is a graduate of the Warsaw University of Technology and the University of Warsaw, a specialist in the field of information technology, materials science, future studies and innovative economy.

In the years 2007-2015 he was President of the Polish Academy of Sciences (PAS), in 2006-2010 Advisor to the President of Poland, in 2001-2005 Minister of Science and Information Technology in the Polish government, in 1996-2001 director of the PAS Institute of Fundamental Technological Research, where he currently chairs the Computational Science Department.

For more than ten years, he worked at universities in Germany, USA, Japan and Hong Kong. He is Doctor honoris causa of universities in five European countries. Editor-in-Chief of Archives of Computational Methods in Engineering (Springer), the world’s most cited journal in its field. He is Vice-President of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts, President of the European Forum on Materials Science, Chairman of the Future Studies Committee of PAS, member of the Austrian Academy of Sciences and Academia Europaea, former member of the Senate of the German National Academy of Sciences, former member of the European Research Council and an advisory group for the EU-Commissioner for Research and Innovation.

In the years 2008-2010 he was the coordinator of the National Foresight Program Poland 2020, in the years 2008-2014 Vice-Chairman of the Council on Low-Emission Economy Development, an advisory body for the Minister of Economy.

From 2012, member of a group preparing for the European Commission a document entitled ‘A New Narrative for Europe’, in 2015 nominated as Ambassador of the EU for this initiative. He is recipient of high national decorations conferred on him in France, Japan, Belgium and Greece, of the Weimar Triangle Award and the title E-economy Ambassador awarded by the Association of Polish Banks.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.